Maryland Coaches Hall of Fame inductees

J.C. Pinkney (pictured), Dave Cesky and Jeff Herrick were inducted into the Maryland Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2016.

Maryland Coaches Hall of Fame inductees
Name School(s) Induction
Tim Ambrose Middletown 2004-05
Moe Barber Snow Hill 1993
Charles Berry Wicomico 2004-05
Irv Biasi Patterson 1988
Andy Borland Severna Park 1998-99
Ken Brace Watkins Mill 2012-13
Joe Brune Loyola 1998-99
John Buchheister Milford Mill, Randallstown 2000-01
Jerry Calhoun Beall 1990
Mike Calhoun Fort Hill 2001-02
Dave Carruthers Linganore, Urbana 2007-08
Tony Caruso Sherwood 1989
Ernie Ceccato Poolesville, Quince Orchard 2001-02
Al Cesky Bel Air 1988
Dave Cesky Fallston 2016
Terry Changuris Seneca Valley 2010-11
Bud Coackley Edgewood 1992
Rick Conner Brunswick, Linganore 2013-14
John Cox La Plata 1994
Jim Crawford Friendly 1993
Claude Darr Franklin 2017
Lowell Davis Landon 2003-04
Doug DuVall Wilde Lake 2006-07
Ben Eaton Dunbar 2007-08
Dutch Eyth McDonogh 1990
Jim Fegan Georgetown Prep 1997
Doug Fleetwood Cambridge-S.D. 2002-03
Jerry Franks DeMatha, Northern Calvert,
Calvert, Huntingtown
Jack Gilmore Allegany 2003-04
Bill Hahn Fort Hill, Wheaton 1988
Ed Hargaden Loyola 1988
John Harvill Gaithersburg 1998-99
Danny Hayes Gwynn Park 2017
Jim Head Westminster 1990
Jeff Herrick Broadneck 2016
Chuck Hickes Laurel 2009-10
Jim Higgins Milford Mill, Randallstown 1989
Ken “Speedy” Johnson Randallstown, Liberty, Winters Mill 2017
Larry Johnson McDonough 2000-01
Bill Jones Wheaton 1990
Walt King Bullis 2008-09
Al Laramore Annapolis 1992
Charlie Lattimer Fort Hill 1989
Harry Lawrence City College 1988
Pete Lerario Springbrook 1994
Roy Lester Allegany, R. Montgomery,
Magruder, Paint Branch
Bob Lumsden Polytechnic 1988
Nick Lynch Suitland 2009-10
Bill Mackley John Carroll 2005-06
Dan Makosy Damascus, Hammond 2011-12
Chuck Markiewicz Chesapeake-AA, Meade, North County, Arundel 2014-15
Bill McGregor DeMatha Catholic 2009-10
Gorton McWilliams Cambridge-S.D. 1988
Jerry Mears Arundel, Meade 1991
John Merricks Crossland 1988
Bob Milloy Springbrook, Good Counsel 2006-07
Jack Molesworth Frederick, Thomas Johnson 1995
Howdy Myers St. Paul’s 1991
Ralph Paden Fairmont Heights 2002-03
Dan Palumbo Northwestern 1988
Joe Pappetti Glen Burnie 1992
Ken Parker South Carroll 1995
Mike Pearson Oxon Hill 2006-07
Ben Petrilli Loch Raven 1994
J.C. Pinkney Douglass-PG 2016
Pete Pompey Dunbar, Edmondson 2005-06
Carroll Reid Smithsburg 1997
George Roberts Severna Park 1989
Rocco Romeo Largo 1998-99
Herb Ruby Westminster 1989
Joe Russo Hammond 2010-11
Al Sadusky Bethesda-Chevy Chase 1991
Dave Schrodel Thomas Johnson, Walkersville 1988
Fred Shepherd Churchill 2000-01
Jim Smith Aberdeen 1995
Brady Straub Northwood, Kennedy 1989
Al Thomas Seneca Valley, Damascus 1997
Macon Tucker Aberdeen 2008-09
Mitch Tullai St. Paul’s 1996
Steve Turnbaugh Hereford 2011-12
John Usilton J.M. Bennett 2008-09
John Voight High Point 1993
Augie Waibel Polytechnic 1997
Tom Woods Southern Garrett 2004-05
Vic Woods Mount St. Joseph 1991
Morgan Wootton DeMatha Catholic 2002-03
Dick Working McDonogh, Boys’ Latin 1989
Mike Working McDonogh, Mount St. Joseph 2013-14
Roger Wrenn Patterson, Polytechnic 2003-04
Ben Wright E. Roosevelt, Thomas Johnson 2011-12
George Young Calvert Hall, City College 1988
Dominic Zaccarelli Westlake 2014-15

NOTES: Between 1998 and 2015, the induction class was named, but not honored until after the New Year. Therefore, starting with the 1998 class, the induction year reads as a school year (example: 1998-99). In 2016, the naming and honoring of coaches returned to a yearly event, like it was prior to 1998.

The inaugural class of 1988 was comprised of Irv Biasi, Al Cesky, Bill Hahn, Ed Hargaden, Harry Lawrence, Bob Lumsden, Gorton McWilliams, John Merricks, Dan Palumbo and George Young. The most recent inductees for 2016 were Dave Cesky, Jeff Herrick and J.C. Pinkney.

If you enjoyed this article, get email updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *