Jerry E. Mears Service Award

Jerry E. Mears Service Award
Name Affiliation Honored
Vince Ahearn All-Star Director 2005-06
Vince Bagli WBAL-TV 1989
Josh Barr Washington Post 2008-09
Maus Collins Coach 1998-99
Roy Comer MPSSAA 1988
Mark Duffner Univ. of Maryland 1995
Doug DuVall Coach 1996
Jan DuVall MFCA 1999-00
Andrew Edwards 1997
Mel Filler Football Foundation 1992
Reddy Finney 1993
Neil Greenberger Washington Post 1998-99
Johnny Holliday Sports broadcaster 2002-03
Suter Kegg Cumberland Times 1991
Bill Kyle 1994
Mike McGlinchey Frostburg State 1996
Bob Milloy Hall of Fame Director 1998-99
Keith Mills WMAR-TV 1989
Joe Russo MHSFCA President 1997
Jens Rygh Combine, Video 2003-04
Sheldon Shealer Frederick News-Post 1999-00
John Steadman Baltimore Sun 2001-02
Willie Stewart D.C. Coach 2009-10
Al Thomas All-Star Football 1995
Mark Thomas FOX 5 Sports 2000-01
Derek Toney Varsity Sports Network 2014-15
John Voight Coach 1990
Joe Warren MPSSAA 1988

NOTES: The Jerry E. Mears Service Award is presented to individuals for outstanding service and support of high school football in Maryland.

Between 1998 and 2015, the winners were announced, but not honored until after the New Year. Therefore, starting with the 1998 class, the “honored” year reads as a school year (example: 1998-99). In 2016, the naming and honoring of individualsĀ returned to a yearly event, like it was prior to 1998.

If you enjoyed this article, get email updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *